Gladys Santiago

During Economic Crunch, Viewers Cancel Cable

Posted in Advertising, Media, Television, Uncategorized by Gladys Santiago on June 28, 2008

Click here to view Mediaedge:cia’s CEO, Lee Doyle discuss the growing trend of consumers canceling their cable service due to hard financial times.  During his presentation at the ARF conference, Doyle notes that “economically challenged” viewers are turning to online video entertainment and no longer consider cable television as a necessity.  He goes on to state that a whopping 40% of commercials are not being fast-forwarded by consumers with DVRs and attributes this to Americans’ “conditioning” to advertisments. 

Doyle pretty much described my television viewing habits to a T.  I watch a lot of television and have subscribed to digital cable and DVR service for years.  Recently, however, I cancelled my Showtime and Starz! subscriptions to save money.  I found that between watching videos online and catching up with my recorded programs, I just didn’t need the extra channels and expense.  Also, skipping ads gets to be kind of annoying and often times I even forget that I’m not watching live TV.  I guess I’m one of those “passive” viewers that Doyle described.

(via: 3 Minute Ad Age: June 27, 2008)

Leave a Reply

