Gladys Santiago

Nike Releasing Back to the Future Marty McFly Sneakers

Posted in Fashion, Marketing, Sneakers by Gladys Santiago on June 28, 2008

gizmodo.com)

sneakerobsession.com)

AHHH!  My jaw just dropped and my heart skipped a beat.  After years and years of anticipation and campaigning from fans, Nike will release the sneakers Marty McFly wore in Back to the Fututre: Part II.  However, the sneakers look NOTHING like the pair seen in the classic film.  There has undoubtedly been a lot of hype about the shoes, but Nike really dropped the ball by making them, as PSFK‘s Dan Gould states, “…just a limited edition Hyperdunk that’s inspired by the movie version”  (via: “Nike To Finally Release Back To The Future Sneaker“).  I feel absolutely cheated. 

I wasn’t expecting the McFlys to tie themselves, after all, it’s 2008 and flying cars are nowhere in sight.  I was however, hoping that Nike would keep the authenticity of the original design.  This is really a “don’t pee on my leg and tell me it’s raining” moment.  My Puma El Roos look more like the McFlys than that slab of leather Nike is set to drop.    

In recent months, HBO has been airing the Back to the Future films, which I’m sure not only increased demand for the sneakers, but also introduced them to an entire generation collectors.  I’m sure many people will be clamoring to get these, but I will not be one of them.  No official release date has been set, but they are expected to hit shelves sometime this Summer  (via: slashfilm.com).    

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

